



POPULATION REFERENCE BUREAU

1875 Connecticut Ave., NW, Suite 520 | Washington, DC 20009-5728 | 202-483-1100 | 202-328-3937 (fax) | popref@prb.org | www.prb.org

Box

Historical Presidential Election Typologies

Reliably Republican States

States that have voted Democratic only once since 1964

- Alabama (1976)
- Colorado (1992)
- Montana (1992)
- North Carolina (1976)

States that have voted Democratic only once since 1952, and not since 1964

- Idaho
- Oklahoma
- Utah
- Virginia
- Wyoming

States that have voted Democratic only once since 1940, and not since 1964

- Indiana
- Kansas
- Nebraska
- North Dakota
- South Dakota

Other states that are reliably Republican

- Alaska: has voted Democratic only once since 1959 statehood (1964)
- Arizona: has gone Democratic only once since 1952 (1996)
- Georgia: has voted Democratic only once since 1980 (1992)
- Mississippi: has voted Democratic only once since 1960 (1976)
- South Carolina: has voted Democratic only once since 1960 (1976)
- Texas: has voted Republican eight of last nine elections (all except 1976)

Reliably Democratic States

States that have not voted Republican since 1984

- Hawaii: since 1959 statehood, has voted Republican only twice (1972 and 1984)
- Massachusetts: has voted Republican only twice since 1960 (1980 and 1984)
- New York
- Oregon
- Rhode Island: has voted Republican only twice since 1960 (1972 and 1984)
- Washington
- Wisconsin



POPULATION REFERENCE BUREAU

inform | empower | advance

1875 Connecticut Ave., NW, Suite 520 | Washington, DC 20009-5728 | 202-483-1100 | 202-328-3937 (fax) | popref@prb.org | www.prb.org

States that have not voted Republican since 1988

- California
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Illinois
- Maine
- Maryland
- Michigan
- New Jersey
- Pennsylvania
- Vermont

Other reliably Democratic states

- District of Columbia: since being granted the vote in Presidential elections through the 23rd Amendment (1961), has never voted for a Republican
- Minnesota: has voted Republican only once since 1960, and not since 1972

Bellwether States

- Arkansas: voted for the winner each year since 1972; has only missed once since 1960 (1968)
- Florida: since 1964, has voted for the winner every year except 1992
- Kentucky: voted for the winner each year since 1964
- Louisiana: voted for the winner each year since 1972
- Missouri: voted for the winner each year since 1960; 1956 was the only post-WWII election where it did not vote for the winner
- Nevada: since WWII, has voted for the winner every year but 1976
- New Mexico: since 1912 statehood, has voted for the winner every year but 1976 and 2000
- Ohio: voted for the winner each year since 1964; 1960 was the only post-WWII election where it did not vote for the winner and no Republican has won without carrying it
- Tennessee: since WWII, voted for the winner each year but 1960
- West Virginia: has voted for the winner in the last four elections... and five of the last six (all except 1988)

Other Swing States

- Iowa: voted Democratic from 1988 to 2000, but went Republican in 2004
- New Hampshire: voted for the winning candidate from 1980 to 2000, but went with the losing candidate in 2004

To accompany article, "Swing, Bellwether and Red and Blue States – Demographics and the 2008 Presidential Election" by Kelvin Pollard (October 2008)

<u>Source:</u> PRB analysis of data from data from National Archives and Records Administration, Electoral College website, accessed online at www.archives.gov/federal-register/electoral-college/votes/votes by <a href="https://www.archives.gov/federal-register/electoral-college/votes/