PRB Announces New Appointments to Board of Trustees

Tom Dillon and Lisa Palmer were named as new members of the board.

WASHINGTON, DC—PRB today announced the following key appointments to its Board of Trustees. Geoff Dabelko, professor and associate dean at the George V. Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs at Ohio University, was named the new board chair, succeeding Amanda Glassman, who will remain on the board until 2022. Joining Dabelko on the board’s Executive Committee are members Jennifer Madans, Nihal Goonewardene, Jennifer Dabbs Sciubba and David Finn.

Tom Dillon and Lisa Palmer were named as new members of the board. Dillon is a leader on global environment issues, serving as senior vice president at World Wildlife Fund for 10 years and since 2017 as senior vice president and head of environment at The ‎Pew Charitable Trusts. At Pew, he focuses on building a healthy and resilient ocean through initiatives such as establishing protections for vital coastal and ocean habitats, overcoming threats to the ocean including plastic pollution and unsustainable and illegal fishing and promoting enhanced ocean governance to benefit economies and human welfare. Dillon and his team also support nature and build resiliency to climate change by working to conserve freshwater and large landscapes in South America, North America and Australia through deep engagement with local and indigenous communities, scientists and policymakers.

Palmer is the National Geographic Professor of Science Communication at George Washington University (GW). An award-winning journalist and author, she teaches science communication and science reporting at GW’s School of Media and Public Affairs and actively participates in the national and international discourse on science and socio-environmental issues through her writing, publishing and speaking. Through GW, she also works with National Geographic’s storytelling division. Palmer also serves as the education lead for Planet Forward, a national collegiate media platform that covers sustainability. Her book, Hot, Hungry Planet: The Fight to Stop a Global Food Crisis in the Face of Climate Change, was published in 2017. She is a member of the Society of Environmental Journalists, the National Association of Science Writers and the D.C. Science Writers Association.

Left to right: Geoff Debalko, Lisa Palmer, and Tom Dillon.

“Tom and Lisa each bring deep knowledge and experience that will be invaluable to PRB’s work in creating a greater understanding of the interconnections between population trends, human health, climate change and the environment,” Board Chair Dabelko said.

Dillon and Palmer succeed Scott McDonald and Elizabeth Schoenecker, whose terms expired in April 2021.

“We thank Scott and Liz for their many contributions during their board tenures. They brought great insights and wise counsel to their roles and will always be part of the PRB family,” PRB President and CEO Jeff Jordan said. “Special thanks go to Amanda for her outstanding leadership during her years as board chair. We’re delighted that she’ll continue as a board member for another year, supporting Geoff in his transition into the role.”

About PRB

We promote and support evidence-based policies, practices and decision-making to improve the health and well-being of people throughout the world. Learn more at Follow us @PRBdata.